Rwanga Foundation Announces the Rwanga Awards 2020

Monday, July 20, 2020 3:30 PM

Erbil, KURDISTAN (July, 20th 2020)  – The Rwanga Awards 2020: Rwanga Foundation  announced its Annual Rwanga  Awards in a Press Conference.

With the goal of improving and fostering the potential of the youth, Rwanga Awards strives to discover talents, to strengthen confidence and to collect all types of artistic, literary, and scientific projects created and developed throughout the Kurdistan region. Rwanga Foundation accepts the submission of ten different categories by young people from all over Kurdistan (including refugees and IDPs) aged between 15 and 25 years.

The categories for submission are short story, short film, recycled art, scientific innovation, entrepreneurship, solo music, photography, drawing, poetry, and software development.

Submissions are accepted from July 20, 2020 until November 1, 2020.  After the deadline, a specialized jury for each category will evaluate all submissions. The jury will select the nominees and they will participate in the Rwanga Awards final ceremony, which takes place at the Saad Abdullah Hall on December 20th, 2020 and the winners will be awarded in the ceremony.

Generic Criteria

  • Age of the participant: 15-25 years old.
  • The short story must be original, have been produced during 2020, and not have been published previously.
  • Participant can participate only with one short story.
  • Participant must currently live in one of these governorates: Erbil, Sulaimani, Duhok, Kirkuk and Halabja.
  • The short story must be submitted from July 20th until November 1st , 2020.
  • Participant must be prepared for an interview with the panel of judges.
  • Participant must apply a copy of ID card, phone number and place of residence with the short story.
  • Rwanga Foundation will have right to publish the awarded the short story anywhere, anytime and in any media, but not for business purpose.

It's worth mentioning that during the Six previous years of the project, 150 young males and females became candidates to win the first place in each category of the project. and 60 youths were announced as the first place winners and won the Rwanga Awards trophy. 

For more information, please visit the Rwanga Awards 2020.